Review of To Spark a Fae War by Tessonja Odette

Synopsis:
No one dreams of starting a war.
But without a fight there can be no revolution…

I used to protect lives. Now I’ve ended more than I’ve saved. But after being betrayed by the humans I trusted, I have no choice but to fight.

And the battle has begun.

With the truth of my fae heritage exposed, the line between friend and foe is blurred. The human and fae councils are out for blood and will stop at nothing until I, my mate, and my rebel allies are defeated.

If we lose the war, everything I’m fighting for—love, freedom, the fae I’ve sworn to protect—will be destroyed. At least there’s one thing my enemies have underestimated…

Me.

To Spark a Fae War is a romantic fantasy perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince, ACOTAR, and Kingdom of the Wicked. If you like snarky fae, brooding royals, sizzling romance, and fierce heroines, you’ll love this thrilling tale.

*NOTE: This series is Upper YA/NA and contains sexual situations, moderate steam, and some violence and gore.

To Spark a Fae War is the final book in The Fair Isle Trilogy. Start with book one, To Carve a Fae Heart, and continue with book two, To Wear a Fae CrownThe Fair Isle Trilogy is set in the same world as the Entangled with Fae series and takes place twenty years earlier.

Review:
This book tied up all the loose ends! There were a few twists and turns that I didn’t expect, but it lacked the spark that the first one had. I find I much preferred the Entangled with Fae series by the same author, but that may be why I was unable to fully focus on this series as I tried to remember things from future books(The Entangled with Fae series) and who it might relate to that I was seeing in this series.

It WAS good to have Evelyn finally remember her head and to use her mind instead of allowing herself to become easily overwhelmed with “this is all my fault”. I do like that Odette’s characters do not merely forget or forgive what’s happened instantly, however there are some cases where the need for revenge seemed to outsource anything remotely sensible. The amount of times that Evelyn decides to go off on her own without cluing in Aspen make it hard to trust they have the type of amazing bond that makes them such a special couple. That being said, they do work to have all their limited time together count. The ending was sweet and not quite what I expected. All in all, the first book was the standout of the three, and I much prefer the one book retellings of Entangled with Fae she released later.

Edit: January, 11, 2023- Forgot to mention; anyone surprised that someone named Evelyn with the nickname Evie turned into a fox? I sure wasn’t!

Star rating: ✯✯✯✯

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s