Review of To Wear a Fae Crown by Tessonja Odette

Synopsis:
Every young woman dreams of wearing a crown.
But never a fae crown.
Because the crowns of fae are forged with blood.

Being the forced bride of a fae king was supposed to be torture. King Aspen was supposed to be my enemy.

But I was wrong about him. So wrong I think I might be in love with him.

With our wedding just three days away, we are closer than ever to securing the treaty between the humans and fae. But when my past becomes grounds for invalidating our alliance, war looms yet again.

I’m the only one who can save the Fair Isle. To do so, I must give up the man I love. Return to the human realm. Face death.

I swore I’d do anything to save my people. But who are my people? The answer should be easy. The humans. There’s just one problem.

I might not be human after all…

To Wear a Fae Crown is a romantic fantasy, perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince, ACOTAR, and Kingdom of the Wicked. If you like snarky fae, brooding royals, sizzling romance, and fierce heroines, you’ll love this breathtaking fae fantasy.

*NOTE: This series is Upper YA/NA and contains sexual situations, moderate steam, and some violence.

To Wear a Fae Crown is the second book in The Fair Isle Trilogy. Finish this epic fantasy tale with book three, To Spark a Fae WarThe Fair Isle Trilogy is set in the same world as the Entangled with Fae series and takes place twenty years earlier.

Review:
Aspen and Evelyn are both so… unused to being in relationships and communicating that there are so many times that you think everything will fall apart and would be absolutely perfect if they just named spoke! This book was a quicker read than the first in the trilogy because I absolutely could not set it down. That being said, most of the tension in this book was from lack of communication and the classic desire of a protagonist to be a savior. Many times, no matter what she’s been advised to do, Evelyn insists that she is willing to sacrifice herself in order to save others, even despite being told multiple times that her life wouldn’t accomplish what she thought. Working around the angst, Evelyn manages to still go on a fairly impressive adventure, finding what is and isn’t worth fighting for, and that she does have a fair few allies.

I absolutely adored the way magic was described in chapter 5, “It is more about intent than it is about tangible action. All magic is.”

The difference between Seelie and Unseelie is contentious, so I quite liked the explanation of, “You don’t want your true nature suppressed or for your freedoms to be taken away. That’s what being unseelie means.”

That being said, looking forward to seeing how the third book in this trilogy ties everything together!

Star rating: ✯✯✯✯

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s