Review of From the Ashes by C. J. Archer

From the Ashes
The Ministry of Curiosities Book 6
By C. J. Archer

Star Rating: 
Genre: Fantasy
Number of Pages: 308

Date Started: August 23, 2016
Date Finished: August 23, 2016

Synopsis: (From Amazon)
from the ashesWhen Charlie returns to Lichfield, she steps into chaos. The killer is still on the loose, Lady Harcourt’s secret is out, Seth and Gus are gone, and Lady Vickers has come to stay. But nothing compares to the chaos inflicted on Charlie’s heart by seeing Lincoln every day.

Despite their frequent clashes, Lincoln and Charlie manage to work together to narrow their list of suspects. No one can be trusted, especially not the members of the committee who are not what they seem. Long buried pasts are dug up as Charlie and Lincoln attempt to restore peace to Lichfield.

But when danger enters her home, Charlie’s world is shattered.

I have come to realize I will never get enough of Charlie.  I absolutely adore this series, and this is one of my absolute favourite novels in the series thus far.  Every character is so well developed with such depth that the reader cannot help but empathize, even with the ones who might be villains (most of the time).

The reader gets a better glimpse at Lady Harcourt’s true nature, as well as a more intense understanding of the others that make up The Ministry of Curiosities.  Although Lichfield is growing more full, it still has an intimate feel, and the characters realize more about how they work together, and how they feel about each other.

When I started the novel I was a bit worried at the angle it seemed to take, which was different from where Charlie and Lincoln’s supernatural stories tend to go, but the tying in of characters and situations when Charlie was away was expertly done.  Despite my irritation with Lincoln’s actions and thoughts in the past novel, I do truly feel he redeemed himself.  Charlie and Lincoln remain my favourite literary couple, and I cannot wait to see them continue to investigate more cases of the supernatural.

Author Biography: (From Amazon)
C.J. Archer has loved history and books for as long as she can remember and feels fortunate that she found a way to combine the two. She has at various times worked as a librarian, IT support person and technical writer but in her heart has always been a fiction writer. While she has written historical romance in the past, she now writes exclusively in the historical fantasy genre (with a large dose of romance). She has several series which occur in the same Victorian-era “world”, one after the other. Each series can be read alone, but it’s more fun to start at the beginning with THE EMILY CHAMBERS SPIRIT MEDIUM TRILOGY. Follow that up with all 9 FREAK HOUSE books, then the MINISTRY OF CURIOSITIES series. GLASS AND STEELE, her newest series, is set in an entirely different alternate Victorian London.

Subscribe to C.J.’s newsletter to be notified when she releases a new book, as well as get access to exclusive content and subscriber-only giveaways. Join via her website:

She loves to hear from readers. You can contact her through email or follow her on social media to get the latest updates on her books:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s