Review of Ashes to Ashes by C. J. Archer

Ashes to Ashes
The Ministry of Curiosities Book 5
By C. J. Archer

Star Rating: 
Genre: Fantasy
Number of Pages: 128

Date Started: June 28, 2016
Date Finished: June 28, 2016

Synopsis: (From Amazon)ashes
Charlie is gone, and Lincoln finds that Lichfield Towers offers no sanctuary. With reminders of her at every turn, and employees threatening to mutiny, he must try to find the murderer who is killing supernaturals on his own. And keep the murderer away from Charlie.

When the strongman from the visiting Barnum and Bailey’s circus is murdered, Lincoln suspects a link, but piecing together the clues becomes dangerous and difficult work. He can’t afford to be distracted, yet he finds he can’t concentrate fully on the task. Even worse, Seth’s mother, the incomparable Lady Vickers, has come to stay.

ASHES TO ASHES is a bonus novella-length story, told entirely from Lincoln’s point of view. It is shorter than the rest of the books in the Ministry of Curiosities series.

This book was a complete shift– everything is from Fitzroy’s perspective.  This book, unlike the last, doesn’t have a complete conclusion, perhaps in part because Charlie isn’t there.  Fitzroy is learning that while he might have gotten along fine on his own, things change when you care about people.  Seth, Gus, and Cook take to being Charlie’s champions and one can only hope that Fitzroy will come off his pedestal and realize that he shouldn’t let her go.  This book left me with more questions than answers.

I had thought that book six was the end of the series, and that I’d get to soak it up as soon as I finished this one.  I was wrong.  The sixth book isn’t due out until August 23rd, and there is no mention of the 6th book being the last one.  I quite wish I could read more now.

Author Biography: (From Amazon)
C.J. Archer has loved history and books for as long as she can remember and feels fortunate that she found a way to combine the two. She has at various times worked as a librarian, IT support person and technical writer but in her heart has always been a fiction writer. While she has written historical romance in the past, she now writes exclusively in the historical fantasy genre (with a large dose of romance). She has several series which occur in the same Victorian-era “world”, one after the other. Each series can be read alone, but it’s more fun to start at the beginning with THE EMILY CHAMBERS SPIRIT MEDIUM TRILOGY. Follow that up with all 9 FREAK HOUSE books, then the MINISTRY OF CURIOSITIES series. GLASS AND STEELE, her newest series, is set in an entirely different alternate Victorian London.

Subscribe to C.J.’s newsletter to be notified when she releases a new book, as well as get access to exclusive content and subscriber-only giveaways. Join via her website:

She loves to hear from readers. You can contact her through email or follow her on social media to get the latest updates on her books:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s