Review of Her Majesty’s Necromancer by C. J. Archer

Her Majesty’s Necromancer
The Ministry of Curiosities Book 2
By C. J. Archer

Star Rating: 
Genre: Fantasy
Number of Pages: 247

Date Started: June 26, 2016
Date Finished: June 26, 2016

Synopsis: (From Amazon)her majesty's necromancer
When bodies go missing from the cemetery, Lincoln and the Ministry of Curiosities investigate. But not Charlie. As a housemaid at Lichfield Towers, she doesn’t get involved in Ministry business.

Instead, she conducts investigations of her own. She searches for details about her real mother, and makes inquiries into Lincoln’s background. What she learns has the power to destroy the fragile trust they’ve built, or bring them closer together.

As secrets are revealed, and investigations don’t go as planned, Charlie finds her necromancy sucking her into a whirlpool filled with betrayal, lies and danger.

Another fantastic book, that was again impossible to put down.  I dedicated much of the morning and early afternoon to soaking up this delicious tale.  The tension between Charlie and Lincoln continues to sizzle, especially as she begins to gain more independence and strength on her own, as a woman.  Charlie is quite resilient and an easy character to become while reading.  The characterization is quite well done and each action and reaction is entirely justified– there is never a point where one thinks that anyone is acting out of character.  Charlie continues to forge her own path, showing that she can be more than just a pretty face or a maid, and that her ability with people can gain more information than force or looks alone.

cjAuthor Biography: (From Amazon)
C.J. Archer has loved history and books for as long as she can remember and feels fortunate that she found a way to combine the two. She has at various times worked as a librarian, IT support person and technical writer but in her heart has always been a fiction writer. While she has written historical romance in the past, she now writes exclusively in the historical fantasy genre (with a large dose of romance). She has several series which occur in the same Victorian-era “world”, one after the other. Each series can be read alone, but it’s more fun to start at the beginning with THE EMILY CHAMBERS SPIRIT MEDIUM TRILOGY. Follow that up with all 9 FREAK HOUSE books, then the MINISTRY OF CURIOSITIES series. GLASS AND STEELE, her newest series, is set in an entirely different alternate Victorian London.

Subscribe to C.J.’s newsletter to be notified when she releases a new book, as well as get access to exclusive content and subscriber-only giveaways. Join via her website:

She loves to hear from readers. You can contact her through email or follow her on social media to get the latest updates on her books:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s